I have a hunger for the woods

image

I have a hunger for the woods
For green things and soft steps,
To drag behind shadows of rabbits
And listen to the lightening
Mocking my industrialized thoughts.

I have a hunger for the woods
For feathered spring-licked hearts
And brittle nests sealed by faith,
To walk in darkness too black for travel
And weave in and out of dreams
And consciousness.

I have a hunger for the woods
For murky sunlight and white mists
Eating greedily away from our existence,
To be reborn in the harkening of myths
and played out differently in another life.

* To read more of my “woodsy poems” click here https://talesfromthefairies.wordpress.com/2016/09/29/the-fairy-prince-and-i/

42 thoughts on “I have a hunger for the woods

  1. Pingback: Hunger For Woods β€” Highwaypay | HIGHWAYPAYBLOG

  2. I thought no you speak for the collective consciousness in your lovely poem. We all need the woods, it’s our oxygen in more ways than air.

  3. I love this poem, Trini! You captured the mystical beauty of what lay in the woods! I don’t know if I ever told you, but when I was a child we lived in an area that was surrounded by woods. There were many trails and I knew the whole of it like the back of my hand. I felt at home there…I felt safe there. I felt connected to God there!! Much love to you my dear friend, I hope that life is offering much beauty to you ❀

    • Oh, I had the exact same experience in my childhood, Lorrie!! ❀ ❀ I think when you start loving the woods as a child, the impact and attachment of that love will last a lifetime πŸ™‚ wishing you lots of love! ❀

    • Oh, yay!! Thank you so so much!!! 😊😊😊😊. What a very lovely comment! 😊. Scientific blog sounds interesting! πŸ‘πŸ». Thank yo so much for stopping by here 🌸🌸🌸.

Leave a Reply

