I had such a yearning for those bells

image

As the bells started chiming, faintly at first,
I opened the window, and a gust of cold air
Hit me in the face. The echo of the bells
Filled the room behind me, taking up space,
But so did the cold, and someone shouted:
Close that damn window! I didn’t oblige though.
Somehow, the cold air felt warm and inviting,
And I had such a yearning for those bells..
Didn’t you hear what I said? The window closed
Brusquely before me, and the room effortlessly
dispelled the cold, and the bells faded
Into oblivion.

12 thoughts on “I had such a yearning for those bells

Leave a Reply

