The Leaves Have Crowned Me In Green

2016-09-11-09-54-17

I look out through the branches
All hidden away. Are there tears
In my eyes? I don’t know.
Perhaps. The sky is clear, except for
A few woolly sheep-clouds. I can see
The ocean far down there. It will rain later,
I can tell from the color of the sea.
All dark and wrinkly. But I will stay here,
Watching the roof of the school that isn’t
Mine anymore darkening.
There are ants on the tree, but
Today they don’t bother me.
The leaves have crowned me in green.
I whistle with the forest birds and they
Seem to come hovering inspecting
My crown. The horizon is ranged
By grey mountains, and I find myself
Longing for those vast peaks, unpeopled,
Barren, wrapped in quiet.
The forest birds peck at my Crown,
And I try to make myself less human,
And more like a home
For them to build their nest in.

27 thoughts on “The Leaves Have Crowned Me In Green

Leave a Reply

