East of the Sun, and West of the Moon

The old Norse people believed there was a fine balance between chaos and harmony, and that sometimes chaos had to erupt in order to bring about change and reclaim a new harmony. In such chaotic times, the “Jotne” (the giants) and the gods would fight, some gods would expire, but new heroes would arise, and those heroes would bring about the new harmony. The ultimate chaos was called “Ragnarok”. This was the time when the snake that kept the world in place would die, and all borders would fall.

I think we all go through such battles in our lives, be it an interior battle within ourselves, where chaos threatens to bring down our old beliefs and habits, or an exterior battle; chaos and unrest in the world, when humanity itself is plunged into chaos, and have to find new ways of life to cope with the disrupting changes, and to eventually restore harmony again.

42 thoughts on “East of the Sun, and West of the Moon

    • 😊😊😊 yes, it certainly does. I think so often we discard these myths as just childish stories fit only to make cartoons of, but there is much more ancient knowledge hidden in these myths, if we just open our eyes and dare to jump in. I majored in Comparative Religion in college, and I loved the bit about Norse Mythology! It really isn’t just about brave gods fighting, it is much deeper than that. 😊

  1. Thank you for sharing stories from Norse mythology. I’m well versed in Greek and Roman mythology and somewhat knowledgeable about other mythologies here and there, but know very little about the stories of the Norse people. What I do find is that all of the stories–regardless of the culture or time from which they come–point to something universal, something deep and archetypal within us, which is why the stories have persisted through the generations. So I have deep respect and even awe for these stories, and I want to know what they are directing us to learn, to see, to be wary of, to celebrate…and plus, I just LOVE stories. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ❀

    • I feel exactly the same way!! 😊😊😊. Being Norwegian I grew up listening to my father telling stories from Norse Mythology, but to me then they were just stories. Later when I studied these myths in college, a whole new door was opened to me. I was fascinated! For me, it takes a really long time to understand mythology deeply, so I am pretty much limited to Norse and Indian mythology, even though I have also scratched the surface of Celtic Mythology as well as Sami mythology. But you are definitely right, there is something universal and deeply true in all these myths, if we just look for it. 😊😊😊😊

  2. And also, what you’re describing in this post reminds me of The Tower card in the Major Arcana of the Tarot–crumbling edifices, the clearing away of old structures and ways of being to make room for something new to be built.

      • I started learning about the Tarot when I was in middle school. My dad had a deck of cards on his bookshelf, and one day when I was home sick from school my curiosity overcame me and I pulled it off the shelf. It was boxed in a set with a book. It’s the deck that I have carried with me for twenty years, through every move. I have mostly done readings for myself but have done a few readings here and there for friends. I find that whenever I go to the Tarot with questions, the answers I get are a lot deeper and multilayered than what I was expecting. I see it as a way of directly contacting your intuitive self and allowing its wisdom to speak, giving it a voice through the messages of the cards. Have you ever used the runes before in this way? Or fairy cards or angel cards? There are decks for every kind of personality–animal guide cards, flower cards…they all lead back to the same place, the Self, the Source…<3

      • Oh, that is lovely! πŸ’– I love that you still have your dad’s cards! πŸ’–. Yeah, I have used Angel Cards, I do like them, and I have used them for others too. 😊. I have never used runes, but so remember I had a rune pendant when I was a young teenager. 😊. I wore it like a good luck charm πŸ˜„

    • Yes, Ragnar is a very comments Norwegian name, Im not sure if it comes from Ragnarok, but it certainly makes sense. Ragnarok means “when those in power lose their power”. The way it is now, I think perhaps that would be a good thing 😊😊

  3. I agree! We all go through such battles… probably several times during our lives. When changes appear the old harmony cannot be kept up. So it needs turmoil in order to bring it all into a new harmony once the dust has set again!

  4. I’m a big believer in our sufferings shaping our character and challenging our beliefs. I’m also a believer in true freedom coming from within the confines of boundaries. I also believe that we find ourself and our security in dying to self.
    Hope you are doing well Trini.
    πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Yes, I agree, that is always a good thing. 😊😊. Light and darkness, chaos and harmony, noise and quiet, movement and stillness, always the same contrasts and battles 😊😊

  5. I believe we are in such a time again dear Trini.. Sometimes the only way to go forward is when we tare down the systems that are no longer working.. We may be in for a rough ride.. But we agreed to be here at this time. And such Lightworkers as yourself are all part of pathing the way forward with Love and Light to reach out to enlighten Souls..
    Thank you again for all you do..
    Love and Blessings my friend..
    Sue xx ❀

Leave a Reply

