Dare to be Wild

I just had to give a shoutout to this incredibly beautiful movie, despite my still aching shoulder. “Dare to be Wild” is an Irish Indie film from 2015 about the landscape designer Mary Reynolds who set out to change the world with her wild garden designs inspired by ancient Celtic beliefs.

If you are, like me, a bit tired of documentaries telling us how we have messed up the planet and how evil people are, leaving you with the feeling that we might as well just lay down and die, then this movie is the perfect opposite to that. It is a film full of hope, giving us ideas and inspiration on how we can help celebrate and care for our wild nature.

Mary Reynolds grows up in wild Ireland where she roams freely around with the fairies. She develops a profound love for trees, plants, flowers, and everything wild and green, and when she grows up she wants to inspire other people to feel the same love and nearness to nature, so that that love can bloom into a willingness to care for and nurture our wild places.

But in order to reach out to people she needs exposure, she needs an arena where she can be heard, so she signs up for the Chelsea Flower Show, hoping to win people over with her old Celtic garden designs. But she is just one young girl, with no one to help her or raise money for her. How will she manage to even put a garden together? Well, by believing it has already happened…

I fell completely in love with this movie! I pretty much had tears in my eyes from start to finish. This is the kind of film I have been waiting for! A positive, celebratory film that inspires us to love and care for nature and wildness, not to cower away in fear. A film that gives us solutions, and not just problems.

I highly recommend this gorgeous movie to everyone, but especially for those who, like me, love flowers, nature, wildness, trees and forests!

P.s I have always watched another movie with somewhat the same theme, the Oscar nominated “Captain Fantastic” with Viggo Mortensen in the lead. It’s good, and it certainly makes you think, but it is much rougher and much more American than the beautiful “Dare to be Wild.”

22 thoughts on “Dare to be Wild

  1. Ha!Wonderful post Trini. You may know already but she is now part of a project called ‘Hedge School’ in Southern Ireland with someone I know from the past called Sharon Blackie. Interesting people πŸ™‚

  2. This sounds an absolutely beautiful film to escape into Trini.. πŸ™‚ And one I know I would enjoy.. I will look out for it..
    πŸ™‚ I went to see Beauty and the Beast at the cinema last week.. Hubby and I really enjoyed.. Who says you are ever too old to watch a fairy tale..

    Love and Hugs my friend, Enjoy your weekend.. I am happy now my gardening has started..
    Love to you.
    Sue ❀ πŸ’πŸŒΈπŸ’πŸŒ·πŸŒΌβ˜˜

    • Oh, yes, you would love this film, Sue!! It’s sooo you! πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ’–πŸ‘πŸ». I haven’t seen Beauty and the Beast yet, but I will! I don’t know if it’s going to be as good as the French version though, but I will definitely see it. 😊😊. Happy weekend, dear Sue! πŸ’–πŸŒΈπŸ™‹πŸΌπŸΉβ˜€οΈπŸ’–πŸŒ·πŸŒΈ

  3. I just saw this post and now I totally want to see the film! Out of curiosity, when you said that Captain Fantastic is “rougher and more American,” what did you mean?

    • Yes, it is a beautiful film! πŸ’–πŸŒΈπŸ’–πŸŒΈ. Captain Fantastic takes plac in US in deals with American culture, or I mean rather rebellion or criticism of American culture. One thing is how nudity for example is portrayed in American culture, like something shameful, which it is not in European culture. In the film there is a full frontal nude scene of Viggo Mortensen which is not a big deal in Europe, but it is in US. The point is that Captain Fantastic (Viggo Mortensen) says nudity is something natural. There is also the conflict between telling your kids the truth versus protecting them with lies. And it deals with the American school system, stating that it doesn’t really teach, it is more about good grades. The whole movie is about people moving away from a more natural way of life, and living a life based on social constructions that aren’t really real. With rougher I mean that there is a lot of swearing in the movie, Captain Fantastic says that words are just words and shouldn’t be considered bad ( I don’t agree with this). There is also talk about sex very openly, again claiming it is something natural that can be beautiful when it is with the right person, not something shameful that we should hush down. There are also some hunting scenes that I had to look away from. Captain Fantastic teaches his kids to hunt, gather and pick their food, not shop it in a supermarket. I understand this, but I felt that the scenes focused too much on the blood and killing part of the hunt. The big issue for me was the language, I detest swearing. I think it is disrespectful and shows a lack of creativity and language skills. Captain Fantastic claims that words are just words, they are not dangerous, just sounds put together, but there, I disagree with him. Swearing, or any word, is always attached to an Image, and swear words abuse an image that shouldn’t be abused. Especially American swearing. It is the worst, because it soils something that is supposed to be beautiful. Norwegian swearing are words for the devil, which is just a man made illusion. But overall it is a good movie with a strong and thought provoking message. But it definitely is not a soft and gentle film. It made me think a lot, both about what I disagreed with and agreed with, and I think that is what a good movie is supposed to do. You can watch the trailer, it will give you some idea if it is a movie for you are not. 😊😊

      • Ahhh, THANK YOU for taking the time to answer my question so thoroughly. I’m with you; I prefer softer, gentler and more beautiful films every time over films that are rougher. As far as swearing…it’s such a part of the culture here and has become so commonplace that I think many people use it for the comic effect. It’s a way of nuancing speech and showing how serious you are, or vehement. I’m ok with the swear words when they are used appropriately, with discernment. I try to only use them around other adults and specifically for comic emphasis. When the swear words are used indiscriminately they come across as very crude and unjustifiable. So I guess you could say I’m a fan of well-placed cursed words, because they can punctuate and add comedy when done right. Thanks again for your insight. I’m looking forward to seeing the Irish film. ❀ ❀ ❀

Leave a Reply

