Refuge from the storm

27 thoughts on “Refuge from the storm

  1. “Especially when the world of men is storming.” interesting line. care to explain?

    cool place to grow up. often we dont realize just how nice a place is until we gain maturity.

    • Well, what I mean is that when the human beings are acting stupid and doing selfish greedy things then I always seek the comfort of nature πŸ’–πŸŒ²πŸ’–πŸŒ²πŸ’–

  2. I had thousands of acres at my back door as a child, each day an adventure. I could get lost for hours…and sometimes I did take a wrong turn. The kookaburras would laugh at me and remind me to look for the signs to guide me home πŸ˜€
    You also appreciated the blessings that nature can give Trini, it is always full of surprises, and a gentle love as you breathe in its fresh, beautiful, grounding aroma πŸ˜€

  3. When I was a child I would always run to the forest and hills behind our house. I felt safe in the woods. I was told there are wild animals in the forest; it’s dangerous. My response was always the same. The only animal I fear in the forest is the one that walks on two legs. When I see another human I will hide. The ‘wild’ animals are predictable. They will only harm me to protect their young, their food, their territory, or because I’ve backed them into a corner and the only means of escape is through me. These are things I can guard against. I respect that the forest is their home and I am but a visitor seeking shelter among them. Humans on the other hand are unpredictable. They will inflect harm for no other reason than because they can. As a child the forest was my safe place, a place of refuge, a place to shelter from the storm raging around me. The title of your post along with the picture of the trees was a friendly reminder. I find that to this day I seek comfort in nature. And I still am unsure among animals that walk upright.

    • I love your comment! πŸ’–. I know exactly what you mean! 😊. When I was a kid I had a friend who lived on the other side of the forest you see in the photos. Parallel to the forest there is a road, and my mother said that after visiting my friend I should always walk back home along the road, especially after dark since the road was lit up. But I always refused, and walked through the forest even when it was so pitch dark I couldn’t even see my own hands. I found the road waaay scarier because it was your typical small town road where only a very few cars pass by and perhaps a person or two walking on the sidewalk. Whenever I heard a car or a person coming up behind me I would tense and get so scared I almost panicked completely. So I chose the safety of the forest instead, despite what my parents said. 😊😊. Just like you. πŸ’–

    • I love blueberries! And especially wild ones! There are also some raspberries, but mostly along the roadside. When I got older I picked blueberries in the forest and made into jam 😊😊😊

Leave a Reply

