I don’t need your advice

Without you
Birds color
Blind
Across the sky
And fields darken
Into night.

But I don’t need your advice
Or your condescension
I’d rather Walk by myself.

Love is not about
Controlling someone
It is a about letting free.

We all have holes in our chain mail
Where swords can pierce,
And you know all of mine.

So don’t shake your head
When I squirm
And fidget ,
For love is not about
Controlling someone
It is about letting free
The spirit within
And learning to let go
Of the ego
That lurks behind
The passion
That claims possession.

I don’t need your advice
Or your condescension
I’d rather Walk by myself,
Unless you can learn to love
Me for for who I am,
And for who
I want to be.

For Without you
Birds color
Blind
Across the sky
And fields darken
Into night.

11 thoughts on “I don’t need your advice

  1. Very heartfelt and beautifully written Trini. Finding unconditional can be a hard taskmaster, but that is its journey. I hope your fields are well lit with the wisdom of the light you have created ❀

  2. These are eloquent boundaries I would have liked to have shared with a couple of old boyfriends. We all deserve to be loved for who we are and who we want to be.

Leave a Reply

